Builders feeling happier

Spoke with a couple of major builders/developers in the last couple of days. Their mood was much more upbeat than for a long time. The general consensus was that with the banks now underwritten by the government there should be much more money available. Also with the prospect of ‘affordable housing’ loans up to €300k via the local authorities coming up in the budget this should help to create a floor of €300k under the price of the basic house. Happy days.

If I was a developer I would be feeling optimistic. They now have a chance to exit the market with a profit.

For us this effectively turns out crash into a long winded Japanese style crash. I will give it a few weeks to see how things pan out and if the developer ends winning I’ll look at emigrating for good.

Expect mortgage rates to rise to cover the banks bad debts

1% on a loan book of 100 billion only makes a billion extra

some of them will need several billion which will require a new issue of share capital from the public or the government.

You cant attract share capital from the public without profit, and profits will be hit by writedowns

The Irish Banks willl have loads of dosh from all the new deposits sloshing around now to lend out at higher interest rates to their new mortgage clients just in time to bail out the builders and make a higher profit.

they can only lend a a multiple of their own capital (their reserves)

It would be reckless to increase this reserve ratio as it is from this money that losses must be met.

The ECB would not allow it.

Some irish Banks are currently lending about 15 times their own capital ( tier 1)

These Deposits are only good for the banks if they stay with them.
This little windfall will be temporary and prob be exiting early next week when a deposit guarantee Europewide will probably come in.
In fact I predict this will lead to Irish bank net withdrawals.
Think about it.