Buying in Dublin on single income

Hi all -

I’ll try to keep it snappy.

I’m in a pretty secure public sector job. I’m on contract at the moment but it’s a rolling one. It has been for the last three years and permanency looks very likely in the next two years. I’m based in Dublin 9. It’s a job & working environment I really like, but it’s a role that I could get in any other county. (I work in education & earn between €40 - 45k pa.)

On the other hand…

I’m 29 and single. I’m tired of renting and I’m looking at buying in the next year to eighteen months. The ‘best’ mortgage I could get is 160k based on the new rules. I’ve 20k saved, so the most I can afford to pay for a place is 180k. This will just about buy a 2 bed apartment in a few locations close to my job.

Needless to say, my money would go a lot further outside the capital.
My question is, with the cost of living in Dublin, including housing etc, am I mad to consider staying in Dublin when I could get the same job elsewhere where my wages would go much further? (I’d anticipate a €2 - 3k bump in take home pay if I were to move back to Munster) The reasons I’m considering staying is that I’m very happy in my job, I have family in Dublin, a great social life, etc.

Any contributions/views appreciated, hope this is the right place to post.

NIrvana

Well houses prices falling in Dublin is on your side and there’s plenty of new apartment complexes being commissioned at the moment which should bring down prices more when they come for sale. It’s good to start watching.

Not being facetious but you’re getting on a bit…hook up with someone suitable via that “great social life” in Dublin and double your money. I’d wager that most of us who live in decent enough places in Dublin couldn’t have done it without a double income.

What a romantic! :slight_smile: