Cash Buyers

Kids,
Any of you lot have any experience of cash purchases/sales recently?

We kicked the tyres off a place recently and though we didnt make an offer i wondered just how much an advantage being in a position to buy cash (almost) gives you.

I wont use exact figures but basically the property was asking say 220k. We could probably put our hands on say 180k.
From the register the asking price looks about right,house in a good area,recently ish on the market and should sell fairly fast.
We rent so have the advantage of not having to sell to complicate things.

Does it vary in as much as any other type of sale or has the cash situation a significant advantage (bar the obvious) when it comes to bargaining?

Any experiences of this type of situation?

I have lots of experience of bidding as a cash buyer and it has not made a jot of difference if bidding against someone getting a mortgage.
Not being in a chain is an advantage.

I’d disagree. Put your offer in writing. In your formal offer, set out the advantages of your having access to ready cash. That you can close quickly. Refer to the environment of mortgages falling through, loans being reduced following the banks survey, and the weight of paperwork involved. Quote some stats. In other words, present your offer as strongly as possible. Your offer / proposition as a buyer does not only come down to amount tendered. Set it out clearly. Make sure the agent passes on your written offer to the buyer.

No difference noted here, except when the house has a planning issue that would render it impossible for a purchaser to acquire a mortgage on it…

I know from personal experience it doesnt make any difference whatsoever being a cash buyer. They always take the highest bidder no matter what the circumstances

:neutral_face:

+1

macannrb
Post subject: Re: What is a “Cash Buyer”?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 11:37 pm
Neo Landlord

+1 nothing focuses the mind more than the prospect of real money!