Cost of building has doubled in the last ten years

This battle between the CIF and the construction workers is going to get ugly!

If the cost of labour only doubled, how come the price of a house quadrupled over the same period?

That’s the question I would be asking if I was a builder being asked to take a pay cut.

Exactly. The most powerful arguments are those with the simplest of reasoning.

Land, Building Regualtions (Insulation, etc), Development Contribution Scheme Charges, Other Regulations (Part V, H&S, Labour), Local Authority Policies (Recreation, Creche, etc) other charges (ESB connections, professional fees) and of course the market!
If you take the average cost of 3 bed semi around the country at max (outside of Galway, Cork and Dublin) at 250,000 then you’re not exactly talking about massive margins. (roughly 15% as an industry norm)
It’s the quantity over the last few years that has given the profits and those that had bought at the right time but even then every developer has to price the units according to the current cost of the land, otherwise you’re out of business.
In any event there are no proposals for a pay cut. A pay freeze for existing employees and a new grade for **new **entrants into the industry, the current entry rate (legally enforcable) is around €14 an hour.
The other point is how many people do developers actually employ? A lot contract out their work to contractors.
Most other workers are employed by contractors working on public sector work and private sector work.

Presumably developers will be negotiating very hard on this point before they start taking food off people’s tables.

A 50% haircut on the price of land would do the country a power of good. Might help restore some of our lost competitiveness.

Oh, and a wage freeze in a country with 5% inflation is a pay cut. A quite substantial pay cut.