Dublin property watch

With all the doom and gloom out there, how come the Dublin properties for sale have dropped by almost 1000 in the past 2 months. Any comments from ye experts. daftwatch.atspace.com/daftcounty_1.html

I am not an expert but the simplest answer is that it is largely a seasonal effect, i.e. the run-up to Christmas/ New Year is not exactly the hottest time of the market in any year, boom or bust.

Also, parallel to the decline in For Sale listings, there has been a significant rise in rental listings. I.e. Sellers are giving up trying to sell and instead putting properties back on the rental market, at least in the short term.

We saw the exact same effect last year with both rentals and sales dropping. Who wants to be showing houses at Christmas?

rentals did not drop much this year, unlike last year

daft.ie/searchrental.daft?s% … &x=14&y=11

I would opine that its because more complete rental premises were on offer where it was rooms last year.

There are 3426 rentals in Dublin City alone as I write. This time last year there were only 2900 in the whole country

Demand for properties is greatest in Dublin, and prices are falling within the reach of people intent on buying, who would have previously bought further out in commuterland. Also demand for rented property is greater in Dublin so there is a shift from investors who could not sell and need cash flow back to the rental market.

Itulip diagram

This image is fromitulip.com, you can add a year if you want to apply the model to Ireland, but as myself and 2pack have maintained over two years ago the crash is from the outside in. Checkout the inventory available in counties on the edge of commuterland such as Cavan, Louth, WestMeath, Wexford etc.

Just had a look at houses for sale against population (2006 census) in regional towns and some of these towns are in major trouble

Portlaoise for sale (daft) 505 pop 11322 (1 to 22 pop)
Mullingar for sale 504 pop 8940 (1 to 18 pop)