Economics

Hi

Since I have been on the PIN I have developed a real interest in Economics- I should I suppose have studied it in college but I was a lazy Arts student!

I’d like to educate myself on the whole economics thing- anyone recommend a few good books?- nothing to heavy mind, just so that I can understand the basiscs

Theres a sticky thread on reccommended books in the Piston Broke

and don’t forget, Economics isn’t just about the money, it’s also about people both as individuals and in a group, seeing trends, looking at systems and understanding history!

Blue Horseshoe

The Undercover Economist and Freakanomics are fun places to start.

Fun? FUN!!!
We didn’t build this miracle of an economy by having FUN.

Start off with “The Wealth of Nations”.
The full Adam Smith original, not the cliff notes by P. J. O’Rourke
And while reading it you should kneel on a concrete floor.

Fun!!! Whatever next?

If you want to go on to be an actual economist, then you’ll need something a little different. I’d suggest this:
amazon.co.uk/Economics-Dummi … 0764557262

-Rd

PS
The two books mentioned by my honourable friend are indeed fun.
If you’re into that sort of thing. :wink:

yay fun!

After fun I would suggest reading something on the Great Depression, shows you how wrong smart people can be.

“Confessions of an Economic Hitman” is fun. Its more about geo-politics, but has “Economic” in the title. Very easy read.

EDIT: And oh yeah, Economics is a social science, an Arts subject!

my lecturer actually recommended this wiki link
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Depression

The Great Crash 1929 by John Kenneth Galbraith.

Excellent read and you would not believe the parallels with our own house of cards.
Just as many VI’s back then spouting the same “its a new paradigm” nonsense.

A Short History of Financial Euphoria, J.K, Galbraith is easy to read and, surprisingly as the title suggests, short. Fewer than 120 pages all in.