Educating Myself

Hi guys, just looking to pick a few of the wiser brains on the pin. Whilst I firmly believe in ‘if you’re not embarrassed making your offer then you’re offering too much’, I’ve lined up a few viewings to dip my toe into the market, purely to see what’s on offer and get a feel for things as they currently stand. I am a complete novice to this and am wondering what type of questions should I ask the estate agent? What’s deemed as important information to know about the property. Obviously common sense dictates but I’m just wondering what other people think just in case I’m forgetting something blindingly obvious. Many thanks in advance.

From experience, you’re nearly better trying to find out information by some other means rather than ask an EA. They can be either very dumb or lie… or both.

In the past I’ve asked;

Q: When was it built?
A: Don’t know

Q: Block built or timber frame?
A: Don’t know

These aren’t difficult questions for somebody who’s selling (or failing to sell) something worth several hundred thousand euro.

Recently while looking at our current rental, the EA told us we had a south facing back garden. Sun sets on the front.

My sister was viewing houses built around a square. She asked which side of the square had south-facing gardens. The answer: “All of them.”

Apart from the obvious “how old is the wiring/plumbing/heating/etc?” questions, make sure you check local planning applications for unexpected six-storey apartment blocks.

If you’re looking at old houses, ensure you know what asbestos looks like.

Bring a compass to any viewing you are serious about (or look it up on google earth after). EA’s either don’t know or routinely lie about orientation… and in this climate you need all the sun you can get!