Endgame 6: Housing As Shelter, Not Speculation

interesting to see what someone thinks the bottom will be.

is there a similar baby boomers effect here or will we still have a lot of people wanting to buy houses?

its interesting as this is what I have been posting the same notions since 2003 or thereabouts but I wouldn’t be claiming first of the species. Its an old argument that needs to be had. Fuck the upturns help the homeless and scared.

A temporary nationalisation of the housing market a few years ago woul dhave pushed this to action. A forced issue maybe but worth it vs our current situation.

Good find.

I fully agree with the first point. It’s never made much sense to me that high house prices are good for an economy. I’d impose a maximum mortgage amount of €150k (or an amount roughly equivalent to the build cost of a 3bed semi and the agri value of an average plot). Such a cap should limit speculation.

The variable to note on the second point is rent. Rent seems to be correlated to the property value, making it difficult to place a value on property using current rental yields. This makes it difficult to predict where rents will settle.

I understood the point to mean that property value comes in line with it’s true economic value - ie no premium to its financial return to rents. I think this was the experience of the Japanese bottom. With rents continuing to fall no end in sight to the depreciation.

yo grumps, just making a general point on using rental yields. There’s a temptation to use these to come up with a property value. This ignores the relationship between price and rent. I’m just using the second point as a springboard for this.

i think it’s more important to focus on multiples of income to determine rent rather than a notional value although i expect we mean the same thing.