German Bonds for Dummies

Having half my str fund in NR and just taken the other half out of the NTMA as the rates are pathetic i was looking at german bonds as a safe haven.Would have little faith in the irish government guarantee,so think german bonds would be a reasonable secure investment. Would appreciate a idiots guide to inventing in german bonds.

A big thankyou to anyone who has the time to and knowledge to reply.

Here’s an interesting story about German Bonds. Link.

Mightn’t interest you though…

I’d start here…

deutsche-finanzagentur.de/cln_117/nn_105538/EN/InstitutionalInvestors/GovernmentSecurities/Federal_20bonds/federal-bondsII__inhalt.html

then open a basic trading a/c with a broker to buy the bonds.

Thanks but as a complete novice to bonds i’m still slightly confused.

A couple of questions if you will.

1. What kind of interest do they pay ?Is it fixed or variable ?
  2. Are they easy to buy and sell ?
  3. Do you have to hold them for a fixed period ?Are they a longterm or shortterm investment ?
  4. Do you hold them personally or the broker ?What happens if broker goes bust ?
  5. Can you only buy through a broker ?
  6. What sort of charges does buying and selling incur ?

Really what i’m looking to do is spread my risk and i’m wondering are bonds a good part strategy in the medium term ?

Live,work,paid in ireland. 10% net worth on deposit in ireland.
40% on deposit with HM treasury (NR)
10% on deposit Dutch (rabo)
Looking to diversify the other 40% ?

Don’t want currency risk, property or shares in the current climate as risk to great atm.

Are bonds the way to go or what are others doing ?

Not sure on answering the above re: bonds, but physical gold and silver should form part of your diversification strategy.

Do you not pay way over the odds to hold physical metals though ?Where would you even get them in ireland ?Can you get them up north,maybe worth a look with currency difference ?