How much is this house worth?

A mate of mine lives around the corner from this place:

myhome.ie/residential/search … VGDB332968

Had been on Daft until a while ago. Nearly choked when I saw it had a price tag of 495k (was also listed as glasnevin when it was on daft, its finglas). Can no longer find it on Daft but as the link above shows, listed now on myhome for 460k. Still vastly over valued IMO. Had an argument with my mate. I said (when it was advertised at 495k) they could knock 100k off and it still wouldn’t sell, mate reckons 400k would be a ‘bargain’. Not gonna pretend I’m an expert on the market but I still reckon they need to knock another 100k off to sell. Any opinions?

Thing is, 400k may be a bargain today. But will 400k be a bargain this time next year. I would guess that it would not.

People’s perspectives on prices are still vastly distorted.

even 350,000 may seem like a bargain at this stage but it is still about 10x the average industrial wage.

I’ve said it before, but the only reason that house prices are so ridiculously high is because they just went higher and higher…that was the only reason a shoebox could be sold for half a million, because it was going to be worth more each year.
Now that prices are falling that biggest asset of the property is non-existent - and face it, in a lot of cases all you’re left with is a poor quality shoebox…Current prices are still ‘investor’ prices - without the investment reason.
Bargains? what bargains?.

It’s worth what anyone is prepared to pay for it … as to it’s actual and real value … that’s a whole other discussion.

“A horse, a horse, my kingdom for a horse”. Worth is relative … how much you got, how badly you want it?

Blue Horseshoe

A three bed semi in Finglas that costs more than 10x average wage.
Bargain!, nothing to see here, move along please.

Bear Stears shares were worth $30 a share on March 14th.

Bear Stears shares were worth $2 a share on March 17th.