information cascades

How a Bubble Stayed Under the Radar

The New York Times

Well, as an engineer, I have to wonder if this can be modelled as a case of Positive Feedback?

Now I don’t mean modelling the actual market ie supply versus demand, cost of interest, inflation etc. - half the folks on here seem to have economics degrees or are wannabees, so are very familiar with these. What I am talking about is the madness, the frenzy, the denial of all logic.

Alas many precise engineering terms have become used and abused by the ahem soft sciences ie non-sciences like psychology and by lazy journalists so Positive feedback is now used to mean praising someone who finally gets off their arse and does something useful etc.

In ‘our’ terms Positive feedback is feeding part of the output of a system back round into the input in such a way as to reinforce the input. Usually this is a bad idea as systems (eg audio amplifiers) soon go unstable and will self-destruct in some cases. In the property area such feedback would be anecdotal (someone your brother-in-law knows is retiring at 35 'cos he now has 5 properties each paying for the other…) or “real” in that the house you paid 100k for is 10 years ago now “worth” 500k so you somehow feel you have 400k free money with which to gamble (sorry invest) and it’s burning a hole in your pocket.

Negative feedback (despite the untrendy appearance of the “N” word) is feeding part of the output back round into the input in such a way as to diminish the input. When this was first proposed it for electronic circuits it was rubbished for 20 years after it was shown to work. In this discussion such feedback would be say pinsters pointing out that what goes up must come down or just pouring cold water on some irrational exhuberance… Alas the Pinsters are usually only heard by other Pinsters.

Getting back to the point: I have 2 examples from personal experience: