Irish Banks NOT putting developers under pressure

I don’t have an article from a publication to back up my point - but if you look around at all the houses that are for sale and note that not one significant developer has gone bust, you can only conclude that the banks know that they are dealing with a very dangerous situation. They know that they can not get anymore for a house than a developer can, and they don’t want the job of disposing of houses via a liquidation. So for now they are treating the developers with kid gloves.

I work in the construction business and know of a concrete and block supplier who is owed alot of cash by quite a few house builders. Suppliers such as they are the only ones that can force the situation. Other than that the real decline in house prices will come about when voluntary liqudations start.

They know they stand to lose mostif the developers go bust. So they are giving them time while gently applying more pressure

You know what they say, if you owe the bank 50k you are in trouble, if you owe teh bank 50 million, they are in trouble.

The relationship is now more than symbiotic.

https://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00183/mcnamara_183507t.jpg
A big beast of Irish property pulls in his horns
independent.ie/lifestyle/pro … 85780.html

Bertie’s Finest Hour… Shame He Couldn’t Detach Himself From The Developers For It
shane-ross.ie/archives/221/b … rs-for-it/

Depends who you know, and who they know.

And if you own the bank 500 million then the taxpayer is in trouble.

I agree. And I strongly agree with the part I have underlined. However I see aday coming when the banks will have to force the issue and if the developers cant come up with the money they are gone. I believe abank can take a serious hit if they take over a large development and sell for whatever they can get. At least that will get them some cash should the need arise and maybe stimulte the market alittle.