Is it impossible to get a mortgage?

I have been renting for a couple of years after selling our last house. We have kept in contact with our bank over the last 18 months with regards to mortgage amounts etc and the mortgage offered remained the same up until now yet our personal or financial situations have not changed. Although we have an investment property, with a modest mortgage, which monthly repayments are covered by the rent and have a good history over the last 7 years on the mortgage and have a sizeable deposit in place they have reduced our mortgage sum from the previously agreed amount and require a “contract of the sale” on the rental property in order to give us the mortgage. While I explained this property was being paid for by rent and has been for some time they just won’t take it into consideration. I find this very annoying, we are carrying no personal debt and have had 2 previous mortgages cleared on previous houses yet they are not willing to do anything. Is this the case with all banks at present or I am dealing with the one that doesnt want to give out mortgages at present?

Probably the latter.

Would EBS be the culprit by any chance?

no its AIB

I’d say it’s to do with affordability. AIB only lend up till age 65 I discovered, whereas BOI and others lend up to age 70. So if you are an older borrower, the repayment terms are shorter, so the monthly repayments will be larger and affordability gets harder then. If you have kids then that reduces affordability even less. I am seeking approval with AIB currently and they are doubtful if we can be approved for the same as BOI because of the age thing.
From their point of view, if you lost the tenants from the investment property, could you still meet your monthly repayments and pass the stress test of interest rates rising?

I recently got approval from boi. They calculated my total mortgage exposure and were willing to give me a mortgage despite having an investment in negative equity.