Pattern to market drops ?

Gentlemen,
I’ve been studying the market for the last 2 months.
I wonder if any of you has an opinion on the following:

Does the dropping market experience cycles or is it gradual ?
(I’ve looked at the charts on treesdontgrowtothesky etc).
Another way of stating this is - do EAs suddenly drop a tranche of properties in unison (e.g. after a date or event of some kind e.g. mini-budget)
or are all prices truly independent.

P

Ladies and Gentlemen surely!! :smiley:

trend and chart watching has broken ‘the best’

they become self fulfilling

The central bank said it ages ago:

page 6 of centralbank.ie/data/FinStaRepFiles/The%20Irish%20Housing%20Market%20-%20Fundamental%20and%20Non-Fundamental%20Influences%20.PDF

img142.imageshack.us/img142/3790/centralbankf.jpg

Some people have realised the game is up and are trying to get what they can. The rental value of this for example (daft.ie/2683446 puts its worth at around 300k, why buy when you can rent?

Based on my own long househunting experieces, I don’t think there is a cohesive plan amongst EAs countrywide to do things in unison.
I think the selling market does have certain cycles - i.e. when more houses are added at the beginning of a traditional ‘selling’ season, then due to volume there will be more drops.
What used to be the selling seasons seem to be: Feb to Easter, After Easter to end June, Sept to October. Nov, Dec and Jan are dead months, as are July and August. So the larger spikes happen during the selling seaons because more houses are put on the market and people getting more anxious not to have to wait till the next selling season accept cuts to their asking prices.
I’ve also seen stalemate periods before Budgets where sellers and EAs just wait to see what happens before deciding what to do next (cut the price, take house off the market and rent it, etc).

Specifically for property or equities too.

Are you a fundamentalist :open_mouth: