Portion of Income for Savings and Pension

Ideally what % should a person be saving and what portion should be put away on a pension?

Thay say in your 20’s about 10% and in your 30’s about 15%.

I’ve been putting 17% in since my midd 20 (12 years) and it’s in a big hole to the tune of about 10 grand which means I’m f*cked as you need growth in the fund year on year of about 6% espically early on, to have any hope of a deacent fund at the end. Sickens me. It’s a company fund with BOI asset managment.

I used to pay 20% and 20%, when I had a higher salary, it’s now 10% in the pension (plus a much more generous company contribution, so the overall proportion is the same, albeit of a lower salary) and around 10% saving.

Are you talking Net or Gross salary. Would capital payment on a mortgage count as saving?

There is no one answer on the pension side that’s appropriate for everyone as the answer depends on a number of factors.

What age are you? As you get older it the costs of funding a pension increases. In addition to that, the maximum contribution you’re allowed pay is age related.
Are in you a pension scheme already or are you starting from scratch?
Do you want to make up for prior years where you didn’t make any contributions? Are you targeting the Revenue maximum or just enough to be comfortable?
If in a scheme is it defined benefit or defined contribution? Is your employer contributing and how much?
Male, female, single, married, kids?
What salary are you on and what provision do you already have? Govt is cutting back on maximum allowances and benefits so if you’re on a high salary or already have a large fund you could be very restricted in what you pay.

Not trying to be smart but if I tell you I’m paying 15%, you’ve no idea if that’s adequate or not without knowing the answer to the above questions.

All good questions.
FWIW, single, 40, no kids, renting.

Heard Jill Kerby on Matt Cooper in recent weeks. To paraphase: