Presidential Election Friday 26 Oct 18

Apart from the chance of winning a huge salary and pension why do so many spoofers want the chance to lose the election to be president ? This whole charade is bizarre.

In the case of failed business man Gombeen Gallagher he clearly just wants the nice salary, perks, and pension, for the rest of the clowns who knows, ego trip I suppose

Agreed * 1000

Three candidates from the same cringey reality TV show – what’s that about? I accidentally overheard an RTE radio program in which the people seeking nomination gave their spiel about what they’d do in office. Most of their ideas had SFA to do with anything the president has influence over. I know they have to ridiculously oversell themselves, but there’s a point at which it starts to sound like clueless incompetence. I’m all for getting the leprechaun out of the Áras, but not at any cost.

When in doubt, my vote goes to whoever is likely to cost the least- usually the oldest so we’ll be least burdened with their pension.

Mary Robinson and her enormous ego have a lot to answer for. She started us down on this path away from strict guardian of the constitution.

Mary McAleese for all her bluster couldn’t take a leaf out of her Icelandic counterpart’s book and ask the government if they knew they what were signing up for when they guaranteed the banks. The Italian president takes it upon himself to act like the adult in the room, (they’ll be fucked if a Seano Gallagoni even gets in). McAleese is simply a Fianna Fail hack to the end, as evidenced by her son

Woohoo another season of X Factor (at taxpayers expense)

Peter Casey is fairly daft

mobile.twitter.com/newsworthy_i … 60995?s=21

:smiley:

Was Patrick Hillery guardian of anything really? Was Lenihan a bullshitter a viable alternative ? Did Robinson and her ego start us down a path really or did her election merely represent a society that was slowly becoming ever more narcissistic and egotistical and wanting in a Self Esteem movement way to “feel good about itself”. The crassness of the Celtic Tiger and the various referenda results are all part of the same societal trend towards narcissism.

I suppose one of the candidates could be in with a shout if they behave like a sort of TED talk or airport bookshop motivational book and bangs on constantly about how “great we could be” and “how much potential we have” and how “we’ve come so far from the past” (aren’t we so superior to our backward ancestors!)

Hey, don’t laugh! That is the best idea I’ve heard all year, and definitely what I’m gonna do. I’ll also filter out Mary-Robinsonesque narcissists who are likely to think the State should buy their scribbled ravings at taxpayers’ expense. I might make exceptions for candidates who hate travelling or have a morbid fear of flying.

The Presidents salary is 50% higher than the Taoiseach’s + he gets a massive gaff/staff/expenses. How did that happen!

Did anyone stick a pin on this odd one out Gemma O’Doherty as our new President, was she taken on about the penalty points by Stephen Rae.

In that case Michael D is your man - we’re already on the hook for his pension. Cheapest option is to keep him there 'til he dies.

From what they would-be candidates have said so far, there is limited understanding of the office. People talking about homelessness and jobs and banks and immigration - all fine, but run for the Dail.

O’Doherty was an intriguing one until I saw videos of her saying the State assassinated Veronica Guerin and vaccines are a public health threat :open_mouth:

Sharkey has a soothing voice but that’s about all he’d add. He’s enjoying the publicity but won’t be on the ticket.

So it’ll be Higgins vs whoever Sinn Fein settle on. Maybe a half-decent debate or two will follow and Higgins will win the vote, even if the SFer can avoid upsetting mainstream voters by talking about radical constitutional change.

It’s a surprisingly weak field, you’d have to say. If Mairead McGuinness or Miriam O’Callaghan or even Brendan O’Carrol (ruled himself out ‘this time’) were on the pitch it might be a contest. Eve Colm O’Gorman or Fergus Finlay or some such might have given it a shot but I doubt Higgins is losing much sleep.

Good article in Irish Times: Nine questions would-be Presidents should answer

As it explains, a lot of the people proposing themselves to County Councils either misunderstand the office and its (lack of) powers or they intend to ignore the Constitution. They are also make pledges about campaigns of various kinds that they’d run while in office (reach out to the diaspora, raise suicide awareness etc.) for which they have no sources of funds.

In fairness, it’s quite a hard office to campaign for: you can’t really promise to do that much but there’s not much you can do. But the current wannabes are helping to distort the public perception of the office and its powers but bringing up migration and social justice issues.

Some speculation on Sean O’Rourke show this morning about a possible general election, after the budget, which could be held on 26th October. Polls suggest no particular change in the seat numbers, maybe Leo gets some sort of bounce if his fan club switches over.

I can’t see a GE by late October.

Budget 2019 is on 9 October 2018. The Finance Bill wouldn’t be passed for another few weeks.

Would they even have time to dissolve the Dail and call an election?

Also, we’d be luck to have a government by Christmas given how long the last govt formation talks took. Who would go to the crunch November EU summit where Brexit will (probably, finally) crystalise?

Sorry, just don’t see how that would work. Suits most parties to keep current arrangement until next year.

We must speak truth to power and stop promoting failed systems. Such as not making guilty people innocent. There must be accountability and transparency in our social legal and justice systems. We have all seen the fallout of the banking systems, the vulture buyouts,the lack of anyone taking responsibility for anything. Is Gemma O’Doherty correct in her dealings of complete media collusion in the yes yes scenarios, and a complete loss of logical thinking for enlightened people about issues of importance for social wellbeing and law and order. Could a president do more in the line of guidance and the well being of a nation.

What role does the President have in addressing this issues (the guilty being acquitted; banking collapses and vulture funds)?

How could the President guide the courts, for example?