Pressure from de other half!

Hi Folks, I am a newbie first time poster, long time reader. I know that this topic has been covered from other angles but I would like some sound advice from ye. I am a PS employee earning 45000 minus levies etc and the missus is on 38000 ish. We are currently renting in Terenure for 1100euro 2 bed apt. New 11 mth baby. Space getting a bit tight with maybe a new sprog on the way! We have been looking at buying for the past 3 years. Glad we didn’t partly due to Pinsters and we also saw through the madness!

The other half is going on about trying to get settled in one area but when we do the sums it looks like we cant afford to purchase in SCD on our salaries in an area where you are not looking over your shoulder the whole time! According to the ratios the max we can look at spending is 320000 and then need extra 50000 or so to do a gaff up. We have the guts of a deposit but have been unable to save in the past year or so. I try explaining the house prices are falling at a rate of 3500 a month and that it would be mad to. This is not cuttin it anymore! Anyone have any direction as to where the housing fall is going or should we just bite the bullet and try and get a smaller house than we want and accept that its going to fall in price for the next few years?

Worth a watch irishdebate.com/2010/10/07/trends-in-the-irish-property-market-with-ronan-lyons/

Explain to her that in a stone broke country ye will need every bob ye can spare to pay for the youngsters education.
A euro less spent on your mortgage is a euro more you can spend on your children.

rent a bigger place in the area you want to settle.

I live in North Co. Dublin and the only people looking over their shoulders are the ones looking at me…

How do you intend on paying a mortgage on EUR 320,000 when you can’t afford to save with a monthly rent of EUR 1100? Even with a 20% deposit I reckon your mortgage* would be more than your rent.

*medium term