Repossession and Bankruptcy in Ireland - any info?

Hi all,

I’m looking for some information on bankruptcy and repossession laws in Ireland as I’ve heard a few people (admittedly mainly VIs) say that it doesn’t feature highly in Ireland as a risk for homeowners but they don’t explain why. Although I’m Irish, I’ve lived abroad ever since I graduated (2001) and am only really familiar with the German and UK property markets.

In the UK, for example, if you go into mortage arrears of usually more than 3-6 months then the lender has the right to order repossession and forced sale to recover money. If you bought for, say, 300K and the lender sells it off at auction for 200K, you’ll still owe 100K to the lender and all their costs / fees / arrears / penalty charges as well so unless you are well cushioned financially you’ll probaby be bankrupted by the proceedings. Bankrupt status lasts for up to 2 years (I think).
england.shelter.org.uk/advice/advice-2914.cfm

Is this also the case in Ireland and, if not, why not? The fear of negative equity and bankruptcy casts a fair shadow over here in the UK as it was a major factor in the last housing crash. Yet when I read Irish newspapers it doesn’t loom large as an issue. One story in the Indo (aka rag) recently seemed to regard 120 annual repossesssions as big news even though that’s a tiny number. Is it the case in Ireland that lenders are willing to come to arrangements with borrowers rather than repossess? I can’t see how that would work if everyone starts defaulting as banks will go bust. Most Irish people look blank at me too when I mention negative equity as if they’ve never heard the term (I’m not being sarcastic - they really don’t seem to know what I mean).

Is the legal situation different in Ireland? If so, then that could explain a lot of the willingness to leverage hugely to get into the market.

Hope some experts on propertypin can shed some light!

Thanks,

Bear With A Sore Head

What we have so far