The Black Dog

In day to day life I can only think of a couple of people who have made public their emotional difficulties. There’s huge prejudices.

I think what’s much more interesting is the number of people who are labelled or just assumed to be lazy, negative, pessimistic, procrastinators, not performers, etc and are given negative performance ratings in work (and life). A lot of them are depressed, suffering from anxiety, neurotic problems. They just plough on. And the boss and the life long friends never think depression

My major issue is that people say, ‘it’s important to talk about it’ etc. Maybe it is but I doubt it, what does it achieve? Travelling is the same, you can’t escape your own thought process. Far better to eat well and go the gym. A few deadlifts will help eradicate anxiety and deliver a massive hormonal boost. Young people today are physically broken due to sedentary lifestyle and how it destroys the body which is a hidden epidemic.

If they’re suicidal: take some powerful natural hallucinogen, ideally someplace it’s legal.

Deadlifting and mushrooms are all very well but as you say in the end you’re left alone with your thoughts. Negative self criticism and commentary ‘sometimes the harshest things people say are what they say to themselves’.
We’re stuck in a vortex where what the Buddhists call ‘the comparing mind’ has never been more normalised and reinforced by the society we’ve constructed.

Far worse not to talk about it. I have lost too many friends, former schoolmates, clubmates and neighbour’s over the years who didn’t talk about it and we only put the clues together at their funeral. If you have depression, FUCKING TALK ABOUT IT, IT JUST MIGHT SAVE YOUR LIFE. If you don’t want to hear about someone’s depression don’t listen.

People have a genetic component for their happiness, they have a background of life experiences contributing and they have their current life situation.