Unions seek 'recovery bond' and new property tax

You’re going to love this… :smiling_imp:

https://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0116/breaking44.htm

I don’t want to bang on about public sector workers but there really is a level of hatred amongst private sector workers towards the public sector that I’ve never experienced before. I witnessed some awful scenes this morning in the Companies Office.

I don’t have any partciualr hatred towards the Public Sector…but the unions!!

Workers rights are protected by law, unions are past their sell by dates. Part of the reason we are in this mess.

ICTU & SIPTU both represent the private sector aswell.

wtf? :open_mouth:

Why???

Exactly TUG, I work in the private sector and the next few months are make or break.

Union are refusing to do over time or extra shifts to match orders (which can be very short notice) because the company could not pay the 6% pay increase.

The union will be the end of my place.

Isn’t it obvious why? I don’t include myself, btw, in the anger camp.

Blatant hypocrisy!

Not to me it isn’t other than possibly a co-ordinated media/ government campaign to (mis)direct anger towards workers, a ‘divide and conquer’ strategy. At least it keeps the riots away from bank hq’s.

Incidentally, I saw an army convoy driving through Terenure village yesterday evening during the rush hour. I’m not sure if they were preparing for civil unrest or pay cuts. :nin

I’m not going to fully jump back into this so-called debate on here, but I will make 2 observations:

Not a word so far about the Recovery Bond plan he has proposed or the reasoning (assuming there is any reasoning taking place) behind the presumption that it would not work.

Lately I have politely asked the pro public-sector cuts people to subject their views to a test: name a particular set of future figures which would prove them wrong. I named such a set of figures, but the opponents were content to keep their cards off the table.