University grade inflation highlighted by study

Yeah, right.

irishtimes.com/newspaper/fro … 33916.html

Woo Hoo… I graduated in 1994…

Haha, you’re old!

I’ll take my lameo 2001 degree and my youthful good looks any day :stuck_out_tongue:

When I graduated in 1986 :blush: only one person in my class received a first class honours degree and IIRC less than a dozen received a 2.1. Now what did I get again?

It suits the current political class to have a population that are literate, but innumerate. They need to be able to read an election manifesto and understand it, but not be able to spot that the sums don’t add up… the same goes for finance agreements (terms and conditions will screw you to the wall; your APR may vary, but always in our favour…)

There are those of us who believe the rot set in in 1845… :smiley:

stay on topic, discussion of moderation is not on topic

Heh heh me too, one out of very few firsts in the university. ‘In my day…’.

Of course this report is a total waste of money - ANY academic could have told them this. And the reportage is asinine, there are complex reasons why this happened, not all negative. In my area, the degree I did is in no way comparable to what is offered now - today’s is far superior in some ways, and slightly inferior in other ways. But the +ves far outweigh the -ves.

As someone who did a degree during the 90’s and is back doing a Masters now I’d have to say technology would be a factor in this. Between online posting of notes ease of access to lecturers and academic papers, email etc. You could easily do better in an exam now than you could have in the 90’s because technology lets you do more with the same amount of effort. So while some of it might be lowering standards a lot would have to do with technology as productivity rises in industry with better technology it has the same impact in an academic environment.

The plusves far outweigh the minusves? You need to go back to college!