Post subject: On a teachers wage, I may never be able to afford a mortgage
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:16 am 
Real Estate Developer

Quote:
I am a primary school teacher, teaching in Blanchardstown, Dublin 15. I finished a four-year teaching degree and graduated in 2011. On the day I started teaching in September 2011, I was discriminated against, simply because of my age. I love my job, but it is becoming increasingly difficult to come to terms with the fact that, over our careers, the teacher in the next room will earn over €100,000 more than me.

In 2010 the Government cut the pay for public servants by an average of 14pc. On top of that, the pay of every new entrant teacher was cut by a further 14pc. We were told this was part of the measures agreed when the government accepted the troika bailout for the banks. The new entrants pay cut was imposed as a budget measure.

Code:
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/education/going-to-college/on-a-teachers-wage-i-may-never-be-able-to-afford-a-mortgage-34523000.html

It begins XX the spiral of demands for ever higher wages.

She should be happy she has a stable job with clear promotion levels and bonuses and a freaking pension, I would kill for both in my area of IT :(

Post subject: Re: On a teachers wage, I may never be able to afford a mort
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:26 am 
Property Magnate

Ah yes, the auld 'someone else has something and I don't' culture is alive and thriving as strong as I have ever seen it in Ireland. As a new entrant she had her difficulties, but did she not benefit from lower house prices in recent years compared to the madness of those entering in the mid to late 2000s?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:34 am 
Real Estate Developer

the liquidator wrote: